top of page

Chickpea Salad Recipe

It's February. That means the new year isn't so new anymore and the school year is starting back up. The days are getting busier and making lunches aren't always on the top of your to-do list. It happens, trust me I know!

I often struggle with setting aside time between classes and my job to make myself a lunch that isn't leftovers. HOWEVER, sometimes when I do find the time, I whip up a quick and easy VEGAN Chickpea Salad! It reminds me so much of when I was a kid and would chow down on tuna salad sandwiches (yes, I was amongst the few who loved tuna...yikes).

This Chickpea Salad is super easy and requires as many or as few ingredients you desire. The best part about this meal is that it's so customizable to the point where it really doesn't require a recipe...you can just taste and adjust as you go!

If you don't know where to start, this recipe provides the perfect backbone for you. You can eat on a sandwich, wrap, with crackers, or just by itself! Change it up! Add more! Add less! Who's to say who's right? ♡, Kellie

 

VEGAN Chickpea Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of chickpeas (rinsed and drained)

  • 2 celery stalks (diced)

  • 1/2* small onion (diced)

  • vegan mayo (big enough spoonful, just so the ingredients stick together)

  • old bay seasoning*

  • onion powder*

  • red cayenne pepper*

  • garlic powder*

  • salt/pepper*

  • paprika*

Directions:

1. In a mixing bowl, or sealable container, add in your chickpeas. With a fork or potato masher, mash the chickpeas** until they are broken up and resemble tuna. (It's okay if there are still whole chickpeas! It will just add to the texture.)

2. Add the diced celery and onion to the chickpeas and mix together. Next, add the vegan mayo and stir to combine. Start out with a small scoop, a little mayo goes a long way. Add more

or less mayo depending on how thick you like the consistency.

3. Now you can begin adding your spices. I wish I had an exact amount that I go by, but most of the time I just play it by taste. If I have Old Bay on hand, I like to use it to give it the "tuna-y" flavor. Yet most of the time I just use the ones listed above and it turns out amazing! Get creative and follow your tastebuds!

Notes:

*These don't have a measurement because it gives you the freedom to adjust to your liking!

**To mash the chickpeas, you could use a food processor. This makes everything SO much easier. Just be careful to not overblend! You want the chickpeas to still hold their texture.

bottom of page